Using Social Software

March 29, 2007

I’ve found my online communications are increasing exponentially and the amount of content I add to the web has also grown.  I set up my first hotmail account when I was traveling in Europe in 1999 so I’ve received plenty of e-mail over the years.  In fact I still have the account but now conduct most of my personal e-mail through Gmail.  All of this to say that I feel my relationship to the internet rapidly changing.

I know that folks have been blogging and uploading their photos for years but the personal change for me is the possibilities inherent in keeping open the lines of communication.  I’ve been considering a blog or social networking site to allow all of my far off relatives and close-by family to keep in touch.  The updates we would only get periodically can now happen as soon as someone is willing to share a part of their day.  E-mail requires a certain standard form of addressing the receiver and actually having a point in communicating (even to say “How are you?”)  With a blog the audience is assumed and a picture can just be posted and conversations can start from there without the awkward opening lines of establishing common ground.

Will anyone want to play with me?  I hope so and if not I might just have to move the ballfield around to include other willing participants.  Take work for example: I’m part of a twelve person team and am pushing for the use of a wiki to foster the communications among the members.  Well push isn’t exactly right–maybe more like suggest because I would like practical experience in using a wiki.  And the go ahead has been given by the team leader–now I just need to present it in a way that is both captivating and seen as a worthwhile tool.  We’ll see how it goes!

“The way we communicate with others and with ourselves ultimately determines the quality of our lives.” ~Anthony Robbins

Leave a Reply

