Where do you see yourself?

May 2, 2007

Last night I spoke to a friend I hadn’t seen in awhile and he asked me how school was going and I gave him a pretty standard reply. (Gauging his interest–does he really want to know?) He then asked me what position I would try for once I was done with school.  Now I don’t know if it was the way he worded his question or I had a moment of clarity but my reply burst forth surprising even me.

“I don’t think the position yet exists.” !

And on I went, “I still want to work in a library but as an agent of change for the revolution that can, will and must come to the library system.  So many of our services have become outdated and we need to broaden our perspective if we want to be relevant in the future.” {Gasp}  Where did that come from?

I recognized them as the intentions I had never voiced.  Thought and dreamed about yes but the idea had never had a true birth until last night.  So unexpectedly with an audience who was just maintaining casual conversation. 

Its a strange feeling when a truth you have not spoken interjects itself into the world.  I’m still a bit dazed by it although I recognize the honesty behind the words.  They are both mine and something outside of me, injected from an inspiration syringe.  Yes, it is a rush.

Abstractly I don’t know what the end result of school or my intentions will be.  I have so many other dreams that don’t involve the library whatsoever and I am interested to see how they intertwine in the flow of my life.  Writing, photography, spirituality, travel, family to name a few.

I do feel lucky that I work in an institution I believe in wholeheartedly and welcome the positive role I can play in its future.  I may just be an inevitable instrument of change falling into the moment haphazardly. Or divinely.

2 Responses to “Where do you see yourself?”

  1. Kikare Says:

    Hello! I didn’t think about what career my studies would lead me to in the past, and even though now I try to be more pragmatic when choosing the area of studies, I still don’t have any concrete idea of what I can do afterwards. I just enjoy the process of discovering knowledge and perspectives, I guess.

  2. Matthew Says:

    Yes Kikare I’m learning that discovery may be one of my motivating factors in creative and professional endeavors. Now to meld those two together–now that might be a worthwhile career!


Leave a Reply

