Meditation settles at deep levels

May 10, 2007

Meditation.  I just consulted dictionary.com to look for a proper definition and found one I like via wordnet.

~continuous and profound contemplation or musing on a subject or series of subjects of a deep or abstruse nature; “the habit of meditation is the basis for all real knowledge”

Yeah, that’s nice.  Especially the last part.  I used to be a great reader of spiritual texts from Krishnamurti to Papaji with sprinklings of Buddhism and Zen mixed in.  Coming from a Catholic background I was interested in different worldviews that stepped out of the narrow confines of Christianity.  I’ve even read channelled texts that speak to the greater purposes of the human race.  Throughout my readings I kept coming back to meditation and the need to experience reality directly.  After all reading can only get you so far in pointing the direction–eventually you must put down the book and walk through the door.

Of course reading about all of these different ways up the mountain I became confused as to what you were actually supposed to do when you meditate.  Sit quietly on the ground? Cross-legged or in a chair?  Does it have to be the lotus position to get close to god?  I can’t stop thinking..what am I doing just sitting here!

My ever-changing conclusion is that meditation can look like anything at all and manifests differently in every individual.  Watching a tree sway in the summer breeze, sitting quietly as the morning light moves across the earth, listening to that piece of music that uplifts and calms, walking through shady streets in the heat of the day, observing life abundant and letting the mind unravel.

Learning a style of meditation can be beneficial for a time but after a while constricts the window of experience when the meditator is more involved with the rules than what they allude to.  I practiced the Vipassana style for some time and found a way through my wall of thought to a stillness of mind I didn’t think possible.  For that I am grateful.  The total immersion approach practiced by the participants (10 days of silence) helps to slough away years of mind garbage.  The problem?  Well there are rules to follow if you want to get to the deeper levels of awareness.  And that is when my questions start.

If its as simple as being aware then why must there be rules to enforce this natural state?  Do levels of achievement actually exist when we are considering the pervasiveness of reality?  Wouldn’t it just be fine to take what I have learned, throw away the parts I don’t find useful and do my own thing?

That’s where I am now.  Writing these words as a meditation, going for walks, occasionally sitting cross-legged and sensing the energy within and without.  Perhaps all that we witness can be fodder for our own spiritual understanding.

One Response to “Meditation settles at deep levels”

  1. awareness Says:

    I have never formally taken any training on meditation, but like you I have read some on it. My feeling is that it really comes down to clearing one’s head to be mindful of being and of being in the moment.

    Just like prayer……..being mindful and aware of our own energy and the energy around us. It is only recently that the the light bulb finally came on…..when I realized prayer is something (as is meditation) we can do and be at anytime. It doesn’t have to be in a structured manner, nor in a formal place. That concept………..understanding……..has made me feel much more free to acknowledge prayer in my life, and to seek out the moments when I can “dwell” between the breaths.

    ps. your library marketing explanation clarified things for me. it sounds like a wonderfully proactive approach. I see libraries shutting down all over the place here……the idea of it being a destination for many reasons is a very good one.
    lots of ideas can be generated……..and energy from staff while making it work will make it a vibrant place to be.


Leave a Reply

