Writing cuz I hafta

September 8, 2007

As much as I attempt through sheer laziness and procrastination to keep away from either pen or keyboard, the written word calls me back and I must heed its relentless call. I imagine life might be a bit easier if I didn’t have this reoccurring sensation that I must sit down and reflect on a day’s happenings and string word upon word until I feel satiated. I’ve often wondered (many times in writing) how this compulsion came to be and what motivates me to continue this literary ambulation. I honestly don’t know but I’ve come up with a couple of guesses:

  • It helps me make sense of the world around me. I can acquire an illusory intimacy through these symbols that connect me with “out there”.
  • When I read beautifully written prose it seems natural to respond in kind with my own humble attempts.
  • I feel I have been given so much by the words I have read in my lifetime that I want to give back, and what better way than to add a few more words to the atmosphere.

Blogging is different than my previous writings in an unexpected and curiously rewarding way. All of my journals and notebooks from yonder years were assumed by me to have an audience of one (and perhaps millions after I die and the world discovers my hidden brilliance in a forgotten closet). Daydreams aside I rarely had the courage to share my personal writing with anyone. Along come blogs. I knew about them for some time before I felt comfortable with the format and the possibility of having readers that could in turns be both critical and supportive. Now I cannot imagine the time before blogs…all of my words locked up and patiently waiting can now be shared. As long as there is an audience of one then the circle is complete and the vital exchange has been made.

So…I want to thank you, dear reader, for taking the time to stop by and share with me the wonder of words and the joy of writing. Who could have imagined that with an internet connection and a little courage one could connect with a wider audience and bypass the publishing world with its many pitfalls and splendors? Of course if any of you do make it into hard copy please let me know, I’d love to hold your words in my hands. Until then I will keep marveling over your posts that inspire me and urge me to continue to write and express the viewpoint from the perspective of an individual man on the eastern shore of North America.

11 Responses to “Writing cuz I hafta”

  1. Cliff Burns Says:

    Writers are, by nature, loners (I think), but every once in awhile it’s nice to get in touch with someone else of like mind and whine and brag and laugh and swap stories. To me, that’s the best part of the blogosphere: it can be turned on and off. I don’t belong to any professional guild and I’m not likely to attend conferences or conventions. My blog is a way that I can maintain contact with the world, while preserving the isolation necessary to produce good work. I like hearing from other authors, especially places/markets to avoid, editors who might be amenable. Good post…


  2. Yes, blogging has widened out my world so much, and stretched it in two directions – allowing me access to new writers I never would have come across, and bringing new readers to my little corner of the blog-world. I’m glad I wandered in here today. I seldom make it all the way down the Sunday Scribblings list, but this week, starting on Saturday’s made all the difference!

  3. Becca Says:

    I completely agree with you about the way blogging opens up a new world of connections for us as writers/readers. And I love the way it has encouraged so many people to write again 🙂

  4. jo Says:

    LOL at the audience of one and the publishing pitfalls……I hear you!

  5. gautami Says:

    I echo many of your thoughts. Blogging has opened up a new world for us. Now we are sharing our writings with each other. The various prompts and challenges do help us to hone our skills a those times when words fail to come.

    Reading to helps. In fact it can trigger a whole new stream of thoughts.

  6. awareness Says:

    It’s a bit of a drug isn’t it? Blogging and writing I think. Many people in my life understand neither. Too vulnerable inducing? I don’t know what it is. No matter, like you Matthew, I love to write and I love blogging, mostly because it has broadened my writing world. It feels like a club where support is there for the asking.

    I can completely relate to the three points you make about writing….they are top on my list too.

    take care……..have a great week.

  7. Karen Says:

    I never thought about how we are bypassing the publishing and still getting read by others! Great point!!

  8. MissMeliss Says:

    “I feel I have been given so much by the words I have read in my lifetime that I want to give back, and what better way than to add a few more words to the atmosphere.”

    Yes, me as well.

  9. Tumblewords Says:

    For sure. It’s the reading and writing circle that blogging represents. The ability to reach out without taking the writing tools away. A great combination! Nice post!

  10. lisrobbe Says:

    At first blogging seemed such a scary way to write for me becasue it meant coming out of the “loner” writing mentality and face the world with my writing.

  11. Matthew Says:

    Cliff-I appreciate your thoughts and yes it is nice to be able to blog or not blog according to whim. Thanks.

    Imelda-I’m glad you made it further down the list to the procrastinators! I love that I can correspond with people from far off–like pen pals for grown-ups.

    Becca-Yes I love that about blogs–writing comes forth!

    Jo-Many thanks.

    Gautami-Writing prompts are great to have and the world has gotten a bit fuller.

    Thanks awareness, yes when it gets into your blood there is only one thing to do-sit down (or stand up) and let those words loose! And yes I do feel the support–a hidden blessing.

    Karen-Yes we all have readers now 🙂

    Missmeliss-Thanks for stopping by and giving your time.

    Thanks Tumblewords-A circle for sure.

    lisrobbe-I completely hear you. I Initially started a blog sometime back but could not allow myself full expression. With each passing post I feel more comfortable with this mode of expression. Write on!


Leave a Reply

