Sunday Morning

October 14, 2007

I don’t know what got into G this morning but around 5AM she whispered to me, “Do you wanna go see the sunrise?” I don’t believe I’d mentioned Phoctober to her and sensing an opportunity to break out the camera we bundled up (just in case) and headed east towards the rising sun. We got there a wee bit early for the light show and leisurely walked on the boardwalk witnessing the world waking up. Fortunately we had dolphins to distract us until the sun peeked over the horizon. The most important picture of the set is the last one because through that door we found pecan pancakes and a cheddar cheese omelet.

100_3545

100_3562

100_3571

100_3580

100_3593

100_3595

100_3563

100_3596

10 Responses to “Sunday Morning”

  1. barbara Says:

    I really like the photo with the sun hidden by the clouds. Nice colors, nice lines.

  2. clary Says:

    You reminded me of the first time I woke up around 4:45 am in order to see the sunrise on our country/beach house in Puerto Rico. I wanted to do it for the longest time but didn’t want to get up so early, so one day I told my cousins that I was going to do it. I grabbed my camera and went into the darkness holding a flashlight as I walked on the dirt road to a high point where I knew I would get a good view. Then I waited patiently for what felt like an eternity and then suddenly the sky started to take on some color. To see the sunrise it was worth to give up my morning sleep.

    I love the pictures you took, you had a treat I didn’t since I was so far away from the ocean; to see dolphins. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Matthew Says:

    Thanks Barbara!

    clary-Sounds like a special morning–and you are right it does seem to take forever for the sun to finally crest over the horizon. G and I were walking back along the boardwalk, thinking that the sun had risen behind the clouds and then to our surprise it popped out–we hadn’t missed it after all!


  4. What stunning photos, Matthew. Funny, I had the thought of doing sunrise photos too this weekend, but I couldn’t drag himself out of bed. “What,” he muttered, “get up at five? You must be joking!” Oh well, maybe next weekend… 🙂

  5. Matthew Says:

    Ha-ha, yes 5 is a bit extreme especially on the day off. I made up for it with a nice little two hour nap after breakfast.

  6. geekbetty Says:

    what gorgeous photos. I lived in VA for a few years, right on the beach, and I don’t think I ever took the time to appreciate it. Now that cornfields are my horizon…I wish I could see a sunrise over the ocean.

  7. Taffiny Says:

    Those are so beautiful. What a wonderful way to start the day (assuming one got to bed early the night before). I didn’t find the last shot to be as pretty, maybe if you would have included a shot of the pancakes and eggs, then I could better feel the loveliness of said doorway.

  8. Matthew Says:

    geekbetty-where abouts did you live? Hope these pictures brought back some good memories.

    Thanks Taffiny–yes it was a great way to welcome Sunday. I hear you about the door–pancakes and eggs would have been more fitting but my stomach overcame my aesthetic yearning. Next time.


  9. Hi!

    Popped over from Moon Topples… WOW, those shots are stunning!
    So glad you shared them, thank you! They take me to a whole other place, which I needed today.

    *smiles*

    Thanks!

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore (the lion)

  10. dana Says:

    Hey Matthew…..these photos are simply stunning….an to have experienced it together on what looks like a deserted beach. They speak of wonder and silence.

    I also LOVE the squirrel pic too in your previous post.


Leave a Reply

