The Forced Flowering of NaNoWriMo

November 8, 2007

Committing myself to the task of one million words this month as part of a Novel march has sparked a couple of thoughts into this meager mind. Pushing myself to return again and again to words that I must pull out of the air with the skill of a back-alley magician has left me with the feeling of joyful nausea. Marveling at sentences that write themselves I also ride the roller-coaster down with plot twists that rip away at the academic decency of my analytical mind. Perhaps this is a good thing, I’m not sure.

I do know that I enjoy the moments when the critic falls silent for an instant and I can celebrate playful and silly word flow. Strangely enough I have penned about 95 percent of my NaNo project while on the information desk at the library. (Please don’t tell). Granted this time has only produced a little over two thousand words but in one week that’s not too bad for the downtime at work. Even if I don’t catch up to the billion word goal by the end of this month I could quite possibly get a novel written in the cracks of time that are always present at a public service desk.

You may be wondering about the title of this post and if I have deliberately ignored or typically forgotten my point. I have not. I found this bloom on my porch this last weekend.

4 Responses to “The Forced Flowering of NaNoWriMo”


  1. I’m getting a strong sense of the highs and lows of NaNo from the blogs I’m reading. Keep going, Matthew, steal the time and create the words wherever the opportunity arises!

  2. Matthew Says:

    Thanks Absolute Vanilla for the kind words, I will keep with it even if the 50,000 mark is out of reach.

  3. Taffiny Says:

    Pretty pretty flower, I think I saw snow on the wind today.

    I hope I make the mark (she says, fully aware that as each day passes that seems more and more unlikely/impossible), but as long as I keep reaching for it, as long as I am adding some words, then I am moving in the right direction. And I have already forced myself further along than I would have gotten in a single month, no it would have taken me 6 months at least without this Nano thing pushing me on past my fears….Oh wait, this isn’t my blog it’s yours. You.
    Matthew, that is great that you have found time to work on your “work” at work. Keep reaching.

    yeah I love it when the resistance falls away and I fall into the story. I can’t always get there though, and even when I do it takes a while, and then it always seems I have to go somewhere, that my time is up for the day, just when I am finally in a good writing space.

  4. Matthew Says:

    Thanks Taffiny, its getting a bit cold here as well. I’ve figured the same thing–keep moving forward until the end of November and see where I am. Even if I only average a couple of hundred words a day I will still have more words written then if I never began. And then there is next year as long as the NaNo servers hold up.


Leave a Reply

