Paperwork

December 7, 2007

The final weeks of the semester are wrapping up reminding me yet again why it took me so long to get back to school: paperwork. Fitting the right words onto the page, citing correctly APA or Harvard style and meeting the required amount of words are all examples of fun activities snatching away my time. I will be two-thirds of the way done after these classes which is an unbelievable blessing. I don’t know what it is like to read fiction without a twinge of guilt. Nagging my brain are doubts that everything has not been turned in on time–resulting in rechecks of assignments just to make sure all is well.

I’ve only been back in school now for sixteen months and I can barely remember times of space before the first lecture commenced. Please, tell me, what is it like on the other side. Does the grass actually have a more vibrant hue?

I know too that I am blessed to even be considering let alone pursuing a graduate degree. Having the money, time and willingness at this point in my life does not go unrecognized for its serendipitous splendor. I’m a lucky guy and recognize it even in these moments of academic despair when deadlines loom.

So back to the blank page I go, every writer’s agony and companion must be met for another slow dance.

5 Responses to “Paperwork”

  1. Taffiny Says:

    Love the last line.

    Grass greener where I am? No, but the snow covering it is colder.

    2/3rds, good job, keep on going on.
    I hated that about school, there was no free time, not on weekends, not on holidays, always some project, some assignment looming over, nagging about not being done, and if already done, was it done well enough.
    Hope all goes well for you.

  2. awareness Says:

    This morning, after I dropped my husband off at the Library on campus, I ended up stuck at a crosswalk. Hoards of students were walking by on their way to the Gymnasium to write an exam. My God, they looked like they were walking to the gallows! And, I had this woosh of familiarity flush over me………and then a sense of relief that I was not in the parade.

    Kudos to you Matthew to be plugging away…… as much as I have thought about returning to work on my Doctorate, I just can’t muster up the fortitude to do it.

  3. Matthew Says:

    Thanks Taffiny, I know I’ll be feeling much better about a week from now. Its just mustering that last little bit to extricate from my numbed brain what must come forth. I’m looking forward to a lighter load next semester–which will be complemented with the new arrival:)

    Yes awareness, not as bad as the gallows but a sometimes slow torture. I’m so looking forward to that rush of relief that you experienced–almost there! The doctorate I will have to save for another lifetime.


  4. You’re very fortunate in the US that it is so easy to go back to school and get further degrees – you have a system which is really geared up for further education. I’ve love to go back to university – I can think of all sorts of things I’d like to study, starting with a Masters degree in creative writing for children.

    Enjoy it all, you’re blessed and privileged and I’m sure you’ll do incredibly well!

  5. sports facts Says:

    Couldn’t imagine how would a better writer of skill would write.


Leave a Reply

