No more play, no more school

February 29, 2008

The dictum has finally been handed down and we have been told at work that no games can be played and no schoolwork can be done.  Which I must agree is right.  And frankly I’m relieved.  I’ve gotten caught up in playing Scrabble with friends via Facebook and commenting on discussion boards post in Blackboard.  See, when you work a public service desk at a library there is plenty of downtime.  On a slow evening you may help a handful of patrons in hours of desk-sitting.  After the side-projects are done and email is read it is just you and the internet.  What to do?

Mostly I just read.  And I used to write on this here blog until I got swept away in the game frenzy.  Fortunately the blog priviledges have not been taken away so perhaps, if I can find it in me, there will be more postings.  We shall see.

On the homefront me and the two G’s are all still adjusting to the new life.  I no longer remember the days of the uninterrupted sleep though that price is well worth the enjoyment of being a father.  I’m constantly amazed by the little being that miraculously has come to live with us!  I know about the science of birth but the utter mystery of creation leaves me dazzled.  Looking into those tiny eyes I fall into the stillness of the unknown.   And as a bonus my singing voice has returned to the delight of all:-0

2 Responses to “No more play, no more school”


  1. The downtime could present a good opportunity to start work on a novel – especially now that you have all sorts of new experiences to draw on! Cuddles to the little G.

  2. Matthew Says:

    Thanks AV. That’s not such a bad idea:)


Leave a Reply

