I knew instantly

December 13, 2008

I knew instantly when I saw the SS prompt that I would mingle a personal anecdote with a few witticisms and slog through a paragraph or two telling about some event that grew less interesting the more I wrote about it. Then I would try to re-energize my typing fingers by inserting an interjection of madness into the stream of thought and then scramble about attempting to survey the new landscape while still trying to figure out how to make a complete whole.  I give up that fruitless attempt, bang head against the nearby stone pillar and confusedly stare at the blinking prompt.  Next I look around frantically for something, anything to read so that I do not have to spend even an instant more in this sucking void of creativity.  Must become sponge-like, give me already written story.  Snap back into writing mode, smooth out the creases in the brow and try and remember why this paragraph began in the first place.  Oh yeah, me.  I knew, though it took more than a few moments, that I would be spinning wildly into this writing space with nothing on my mind and attempt to stroke from the threads of this particular consciousness something resembling coherence.  Have I failed?
 
6 Responses to “I knew instantly”

  1. B. Roan Says:

    Actually, you make perfect sense! Loved the humor in this piece!


  2. It does makes sense.

    It would make more if there were paragraph breaks. My two bit!

    I knew instantly


  3. fun-ny! entertaining & CRAZILY refreshing…keep posting!

  4. Tumblewords Says:

    I love the freedom in this – the travel…

  5. Matthew Says:

    Thanks for the comments, I look forward to reading your instant words.

  6. floreta Says:

    this is hilarious. i suppose this is what it’s like to be a writer, eh 🙂


Leave a Reply

